I’m picking up my granddaughter after school, going trick-or-treating with the family tonight, putting candy out at my own door like I’ve done for years, and then taking my grandson home to stay overnight since my granddaughter is staying overnight with a friend.
It’s so cold out, for us. I’m just working on Wolfish and cold. lol
Have a great day! Tomorrow is Halloween and next week, I’ll start on chemo, though I haven’t been able to eat much this week. Just haven’t been feeling well.
Well, it turned cold. 42 this morning, and only a high of 67. I know that’s high for some, but for us, that’s cold. Last night, we walked through a haunted Halloween trail. That was fun. My 8-year-old granddaughter wanted to walk it again. My 4-year-old grandson said it was too spooky, so I sat with him during the second walkthrough. But we walked from my home, so I got plenty of exercise.
Back to edits on Wolfish. It won’t be ready for Halloween. *sigh*
I’ve got to run in for a dressing change and groceries. I’m fixing dinner for the family tonight. And I’m still editing the Halloween story. I was printing out my document and it stopped near the end, saying I needed new ink. The ink was fine. But my daughter told me they put something on the ink dispenser that stops it at a pre-programmed point and you can’t print any longer. Big business is out to do us in.
We might have thunderstorms this afternoon, but probably not.
Yesterday at my drs appointment, they said my biopsy looked good, cancer still in remission after 3 months of no chemo. But they’re starting chemo for maintenance for a year next week, ugh. That means back to nausea, hair loss, problem with tasting food, and other chemo issues, plus they said we’re at higher risk for skin cancer and other cancers. So it’s good news, but not so good news. Issues with graft-host disease can come on for over 3 years, so a lot to look “forward” to.
We ended up with 3.5 inches of rain. We really needed it!! Temperatures are dropping, though we’ll still be in the 70s and 80s in the afternoons. But we’ll be getting to 48 on Tuesday morning and 43 on Wednesday. Brr. From 75 in the morning, that’s a drop.
We finally had an inch and a half of rain during a violent storm at 3 am. I got up to unplug my computer since the last storm, 3 months ago, caused trouble with it. We so needed the rain! They predicted it last weekend, but nothing happened.
We haven’t had rain in about 6 weeks, so I was desperate. I don’t care if the grass turns brown. Rain will make it green up again. But when I start losing trees and shrubs, that’s another story.
Off until Monday from appointments, but need to make some for next week. At least I don’t have to do another biopsy for a while. My hip is feeling well enough that I’ll go trick-or-treating with the kids/grandkids. And I’m taking my grandson overnight Halloween night since his sister is staying with a friend. He always wants to stay overnight here. lol
I haven’t been able to do it for months because of being sick. I look forward to it. And I’ll be picking my granddaughter up from school starting Monday afternoon. My hip should be better and I’m no longer tired from the stem cell transplant where I could barely walk.
Well, it was the worst trip into Houston ever. Usually it takes between 35 minutes to an hour (on a really busy day). It took an hour and a half. I was late for my blood draw, which they just take first come, first serve anyway. They were backed up, so I was going to do the stick for the blood draw instead of the picc line because to get 4 people through, it would take an hour and I would miss my biopsy appt. I talked to a lady who had the same cancer as me and she said she would go to the 8th floor and not the 2nd. So that’s what I’ll do from now on. They take about 15 minutes, not a half hour per person and that means an hour if you’re number 5. They have 2 nurses, but on the 8th floor, they have 6, and they don’t take but about 5 minutes to do the picc line blood draw. So why does it take a nurse half an hour between patients on the 2nd floor??? The draw takes 5 minutes or less there too.
Even the stick line was long and took forever. But to do the biopsy, they have to make sure my platelets weren’t too low or my blood wouldn’t clot after the procedure.
I ended up talking to the woman who has the exact same cancer as me, AML but she started in January, so 6 months before me. Almost 7 months, since I had my stem cell July 30th. She had hair! So something for me to look forward to in another 3-4 months.
She had the same experience as me as far as being referred to a different hospital and told they couldn’t do anything for her but palliative care. Like me, she went to MD Anderson after that and had the chemo that put her cancer into remission right away.
Moral of the tale–go to another hospital if you are diagnosed with cancer and they say they can’t do anything for you.
So it was really good talking to her when she had the same experience as me and she’s doing so well.
The bone marrow biopsy was the worst ever. I have a huge hematoma from it and it really hurt more than any other biopsy I’ve done.
On the way home, we only had a 34-minute drive, thankfully. It was just crazy driving in that morning. I even got out of the car and walked to the hospital at one point because the traffic was so jammed up on the road we take to the parking garage, and it’s never been like that before. And we were so late. It took my daughter another 20 minutes to drive 1/8 mile before she could join me and by then, I was getting the blood draw.
Well, I’m off to do another bone marrow biopsy. I hate them because I signed up to do research and they take dozens of samples for that. It’s just awful. I always ask them, “Aren’t you done yet?” If it wasn’t for the research, it wouldn’t be half as bad.
I’ll be glad when this is over with. Then I’ll be sore from that. My hip tendons or muscles or whatever I pulled when I fell are nearly fully healed at least.
I’m sure if I lived in one, I’d be a scullery maid.
Had to water some as we haven’t had rain for weeks now. Even when they predict we’ll get it, we don’t.
I have 3 more chapters to proof on Wolfish, but my cupboards are bare, so need to grab a few things from the store. The prices of food are outrageous, and even when I wasn’t at home and wasn’t using electricity, my electric bill was beyond awful.